A tad different: Hungarian Fried Bread (Langos)

Hey readers,

So as you may know I am of Niuean decent but I love to try different types of food from other countries so this “A tad different” are going to be reviews on certain foods I wouldn’t normally go straight to.

So to start off “A tad different” one of my favorite foods I love to purchase from the markets here in NZ is a deep fried bread from Hungary called Langos. I love crispy bits on breads especially crispy bases for pizza’s so I think that’s one of the many reasons why I love Langos because of how some areas of the bread are crispy. Langos is basically fried dough which has been made into a flat form almost similar to a pizza base except deep fried.

Langos is delicious because of the toppings that are added onto the top. I would normally get the Sea Salt, Garlic and Cheese or the Sour Cream, Cheese and Ham. The Sea Salt really adds taste to the Langos because I’ve had it with just the Garlic and Cheese and it wasn’t as tasty because all my taste buds was really tasting was the Garlic which was disappointing. You can also get other toppings such as Tomato, Pesto & Feta Cheese with a bit of Garlic, I tried this one recently on Sunday but I admit, I’m not a big fan because the Tomato just made the Langos a bit soggy.

IMG_3137

Over here in NZ we have a thing called the “Night Markets” and my local one is out in Papatoetoe and it’s my normal routine every Friday after work is to stop on the way home and grab 3, one for Rob and my mum (I got them into too). You can also grab one from Auckland CBD on Elliott Street. The best thing about it is the price, it ranges from $5 – $10NZD because it depends on what topping you get. If you like fried bread or crispy based pizza’s then I would suggest trying Langos because it is tasty as F@$%!!!

One time I had cravings for this bread and was tempted to try and make it, it wasn’t until I googled it and thought I would just leave to the professionals lol.

IMG_3139

signature

 

Leave a Reply

